Skip to Content


Virginia Journal of Education

Kudos Kolumn

Five VEA Members Earn Regional TOTY Honors

Five VEA members are among Virginia’s 2010 Regional Teachers of the Year, chosen from candidates nominated by school divisions across the commonwealth. The 2010 Virginia Teacher of the Year will be selected from among the regional honorees and go on to be the state’s representative in the National Teacher of the Year Program.

Association members honored are:

Jami N. Key of the Bedford County Education Association, an Advanced Placement Biology and earth science teacher at Liberty High School;
Jennifer C.L. Larsen of the Education Association of Alexandria, a first grade teacher at George Mason Elementary School;
Carolyn D. Lewis of the Amelia Education Association, a third grade teacher at Amelia County Elementary School;
Marjorie Anne Wallace of the Newport News Education Association, a life science teacher at Huntington Middle School; and
Carolyn R. Wilkerson of the Chesterfield Education Association, a physical science and geometry teacher at Tomahawk Creek Middle School.

Barbara Taber, a member of the Portsmouth Education Association and a teacher of earth science, biology, oceanography, ecology and environmental science at Churchland High School, is one of only 19 teachers nationwide to receive a Classroom Earth grant from the National Environmental Education Foundation. Grant recipients will be able to take two online graduate courses offered through the University of Wisconsin.

Buchanan Education Association members Karen Sykes Brown and Mary Jackson Rasnick received the Coalfield Rural Systemic Initiative Recognition for Outstanding Leadership in the Improvement of Mathematics Programs. Brown teaches at Grundy High School; Rasnick teaches at Twin Valley Elementary/Middle School.



Virginia Capital

Fund Our Schools Now


Check out our products!


Embed This Page (x)

Select and copy this code to your clipboard