Skip to Content


Virginia Journal of Education

Kudos Kolumn

6 VEA Members Earn Regional Teacher of the Year Honors

Six of the eight educators chosen as Virginia’s 2009 Regional Teachers of the Year are VEA members. The regional winners go on to be interviewed by a panel of community and education leaders assembled by the Virginia Department of Education, and one will be selected as Virginia’s Teacher of the Year.

The Association members who earned regional honors are:

Stephanie A. Doyle, a member of the Roanoke Education Association and a U.S. History teacher at Breckinridge Middle School;

Teresa L. Hash, a Smyth County Education Association member and a third grade teacher at Marion Intermediate School;

Patricia R. Herr, a member of the Loudoun Education Association and a physical science teacher at Smart’s Mill Middle School;

Joy E. Utzinger, a Prince Edward Education Association member and a visual arts teacher at Prince Edward County Elementary School;

Therese P. Warner, a member of the Rockingham Education Association and a pre-kindergarten teacher at McGaheysville Elementary School; and

Nicole C. Winter, a Chesterfield Education Association member and a social studies teacher at Cosby High School.

Candidates were nominated by their school divisions, and each prepared a portfolio highlighting their work. The Virginia Teacher of the Year will be the state’s nominee in the National Teacher of the Year program.

Candace Schafer-Southard, a member of the Williamsburg/James City Education Association, has been named Virginia’s 2008 Preserve America History Teacher of the Year. She is a Virginia and U.S. History teacher at Warhill High School in Williamsburg. The award recognizes one teacher in each state for outstanding commitment to teaching American history.



Lobby With Us. Rally With Us.
Join Us!


Tell your Senator to vote ‘No’ on anti-union bill.

Check out our products!


Embed This Page (x)

Select and copy this code to your clipboard