Skip to Content


Virginia Journal of Education

Kudos Kolumn

RCEA's Farrell Wins
McGlothlin Award

Roanoke County Education Association member Tamatha Farrell has been named one of two winners of the 2008 McGlothlin Awards for Teaching Excellence, which comes with a $25,000 check. The Awards are coordinated by Blue Ridge PBS and recognize outstanding teachers in the southwest Virginia, Tennessee, West Virginia and Kentucky region, one in grades K-5 and one in grades 6-12.

Farrell is a fifth grade teacher at Burlington Elementary School, known for her use of differentiated instruction. McGlothlin rules stipulate that $10,000 of the monetary award must be used for international travel, so Farrell will go to England to learn more about her favorite children's author, Roald Dahl.

Among the finalists for the awards were Susan Montgomery, a member of the Franklin County Education Association, and Stephanie Doyle, a member of the Roanoke Education Association.

Debbie DeMaria, a member of the Fairfax Education Association and a math teacher at Lake Braddock Secondary School, is the winner of the 2008 William C. Lowry Outstanding Mathematics Teacher by the Virginia Council of Teachers of Mathematics. She has taught at Lake Braddock since 1976.

Chesapeake Education Association member Keri Lambert, a history teacher at Indian River Middle School, has been selected as the city's 2008 Teacher of the Year.

Education Association of Suffolk member Kimberly Stickels, a third grade teacher at Northern Shores Elementary School, is that city's 2008 Teacher of the Year. Fellow EAS member Kelly Gower, a science teacher at King's Fork High School, was chosen as the city's High School Teacher of the Year.



Virginia Capital

Fund Our Schools Now


Check out our products!


Embed This Page (x)

Select and copy this code to your clipboard