Skip to Content


Virginia Journal of Education

Kudos Kolumn

Two VEA Members Recognized with Technology Awards

Two VEA members were among the educators honored with Educational Technology Leadership Awards, presented annually by the Virginia Department of Education to recognize outstanding school division leadership in technology planning and implementation. The winners are Shirley Harper, a member of the Page County Education Association and director of technology for the county's schools, and Nancy Welch, a member of the Mathews Education Association and a technology resource teacher.

Two association members in the Shenandoah Valley were recognized with Dawbarn Awards, which are given by the Community Foundation in Staunton in honor of teaching excellence. Among the winners are Sharon Leech, a member of the Waynesboro Education Association and a reading specialist at Westwood Hills Elementary School, and Sarah Shuey King, an Augusta County Education Association member and third grade teacher at Craigsville Elementary School.

Michae N. Jamison, a member of the Richmond Education Association and a history teacher at Thomas Jefferson High School, has been named the city's 2008 Teacher of the Year. She is a graduate of Hampton University and has taught for four years.

Phyllis Hollimon, a member of the Hopewell Education Association and a counselor at Carter G. Woodson Middle School, has been selected as Hopewell's 2008 Teacher of the Year. A former eighth grade teacher, Hollimon is a graduate of the University of Richmond.

Stafford Education Association member Andrew Loft, a band instructor at Colonial Forge High School, is the county's Teacher of the Year.

Shirley Cordell-Robinson, president of the Fredericksburg Education Association, is one of eight women honored for their leadership ability and community service by the Girl Scout Commonwealth Council of Virginia.



Virginia Capital

Fund Our Schools Now


Check out our products!


Embed This Page (x)

Select and copy this code to your clipboard