Skip to Content


Virginia Journal of Education

Kudos Kolumn

Henrico's Hall Wins Presidential Math Award

Lisa Hall
, a member of the Henrico Education Association and a math teacher at Jacob L. Adams Elementary School, has been honored with a Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. She is one of only 93 teachers in the country to receive the award, which is America's highest honor for teaching in those subjects.

Hall received a $10,000 cash award from the National Science Foundation and a trip to Washington, D.C. for a week of celebratory events and professional development activities.

Hampton Education Association member Mary Lynn Everhart, a geography teacher at Bethel High School, has been chosen as one of only 14 teachers nationwide to receive the National Council for Geographic Education 2007 Distinguished Teaching Award.

Stacy A. Hoeflich, a member of the Education Association of Alexandria and a fourth grade teacher at John Adams Elementary School, is the first annual recipient of the Mount Vernon History Teacher of the Year Award. She received $5,000 and a bronze bust of George Washington.

Prince William Education Association member Susan Groundwater, a fifth grade teacher at Bennett Elementary School, has been selected as Virginia's 2007 Preserve America History Teacher of the Year. Preserve America is a White House initiative encouraging community efforts to retain America's cultural and natural heritage.

Also in Prince William, the PWEA has awarded scholarships to members Michelle Carr, Kimberly Hedding and Naam Yaron to pursue further college study.

Laurie Phillips, a Shenandoah County Education Association member and a teacher of emotionally disturbed students at Stonewall Jackson High School, is the county's Teacher of the Year.


Lobby With Us. Rally With Us.
Join Us!


Check out our products!


Embed This Page (x)

Select and copy this code to your clipboard