Skip to Content


Virginia Journal of Education

Four VEA Members Named Regional Teachers of the Year

Four VEA members from around the commonwealth have been selected as Virginia Regional Teachers of the Year for 2011-12, nominated by their school divisions for outstanding work in the classroom. Virginia’s Teacher of the Year will be chosen in the next few weeks and will go on to represent the state in the National Teacher of the Year program.
Among the regional honorees:

 Lori G. Askew, a member of the Caroline Education Association and a special education teacher at Bowling Green Elementary School;

• Tiffany D. Carter, a member of the Bland County Education Association and a fifth-grade math, science and history teacher at Bland Elementary School;

• Thomas A. Shenk, a member of the Portsmouth Education Association and a physical education teacher at John Tyler Elementary School; and

• Carol E. Webster, a member of the Roanoke County Education Association, a theater arts teacher at the Burton Center for Arts and Technology and a 10th-grade English teacher at William Byrd High School.

Montgomery County Education Association member Margaret R. DeHart, a teacher at Belview Elementary School, has been presented the Brenton S. Halsey Teaching Excellence Award by the Virginia Historical Society. The award honors scholarship, enthusiasm and creativity in history instruction. DeHart was cited for her innovative work in integrating Virginia’s history standards into her art teaching.

Johnny Moye, a member of the Chesapeake Education Association, is the president-elect of the board of directors for the Virginia Technology and Engineering Education Association.

VEA-Retired member Debbie Jessee, who retired in 2009, was featured for her Association involvement in the September issue of This Active Life, a National Education Association magazine. Jessee is a longtime member of the Lee County Education Association and served as its president for 22 years.


Lobby With Us. Rally With Us.
Join Us!


Tell your Senator to vote ‘No’ on anti-union bill.

Check out our products!


Embed This Page (x)

Select and copy this code to your clipboard