Skip to Content

Kudos Kolumn

Manassas Teacher Finalist
for National Honor

Kellie Blair-Hardt, immediate past president of the Manassas City Education Association and a special education teacher at Metz Middle School, has been selected as one of five national finalists for the California Casualty Award for Teaching Excellence.

As a finalist, Blair-Hardt will receive a $10,000 cash award and become eligible for the $25,000 that is presented to the Award winner. That person will be announced at the NEA Foundation’s Salute to Excellence in Education Gala, held in Washington, D.C. in February.

After winning the VEA’s Award for Teaching Excellence last spring, Blair-Hardt was nominated for the national honor by VEA.

Arlington Education Association member Gerry Collins, a life science teacher at Williamsburg Middle School, has been chosen the E.C.L. Miller Science Teacher of the Year by the Virginia Junior Academy of Science.

Two members of the Education Association of Alexandria received city awards for outstanding work in special education. Kerri Buonamico of John Adams Elementary School earned the Harry Burke Primary Award, given to an outstanding special educator at the elementary level. Wendy Niedermeyer, also of Adams Elementary, received the Anne Lipnick Inclusion for All Award, given to an educator who has been an exemplary leader in inclusion practices.

Two Association members spent a week in Washington, D.C. in August after being selected from over 300 applicants nationwide to take part in the Library of Congress Summer Teacher Institute. Maggie Dunford of the Spotsylvania Education Association and Riverbend High School and Faith Waddy of the Lancaster Education Association and Lancaster Middle School spent the week learning how to better incorporate primary historical sources into instruction.

Embed This Page (x)

Select and copy this code to your clipboard