Skip to Content


Virginia Journal of Education

Kudos Kolumn

Two Members Win Milken Foundation Educator Awards

Two VEA members have received 2010 Milken Family Foundation National Educator Awards, which come with a $25,000 check, joining 53 other recipients nationwide. Virginia’s winners are:

Joel C. Robins, a member of the Chesapeake Education Association and a fifth grade teacher at Deep Creek Elementary School; and
Sean P. Griffin, a member of the Loudoun Education Association and a fifth grade reading and social studies teacher at Belmont Station Elementary School.

Five Richmond-area Association members have been awarded grants from the R.E.B. Foundation, which recognizes excellence and funds continuing education for teachers. Recipients include Emily Betts and Barry Gabay of the Richmond Education Association; Jack Clark and Constance Fuller of the Henrico Education Association; and Lindsay Porzio of the Chesterfield Education Association.

Beth Simpson Huddleston, a member of the Winchester Education Association and a National Board Certified Teacher, has had a volume of poetry published. The book is called Run, Meadow Run and is available at

The Fairfax Education Association member team of Wendy Goldfein and Janet Brown, teachers at Newington Forest Elementary School, and the FEA team of Leslie Chekin and Michelle Picard, teachers at Annandale High School, have each received a $5,000 Student Achievement Grant from the NEA Foundation. The grant will fund an engineering program at Newington Forest and a theatre program at Annandale.

Hampton Education Association member Janice Underwood, a National Board Certified Teacher, has been appointed to a three-year term on the Advisory Board for Teacher Education and Licensure (ABTEL).


E-mail your members of Congress:


Subscribe to the Works4Me newsletter and never miss a great tip!

Enter your e-mail address:

Embed This Page (x)

Select and copy this code to your clipboard