Skip to Content

Futrell, Tedrow to Serve on NEA Commission on Teaching

Dr. Mary Hatwood Futrell, past president of VEA and NEA, and Winchester English teacher Mary Tedrow are among 21 educators named to the NEA's new Commission on Effective Teachers and Teaching.

Commission appointments were made by NEA President Dennis Van Roekel, who said the group will "craft a new teacher-centered vision of teaching and the teaching profession." The Commission will be led by Madaline Fennel, 2007 Nebraska Teacher of the Year and fourth-grade teacher from Omaha.

Futrell recently stepped down from her post as Dean of the Graduate School of Education and Human Development. She served VEA as president from 1976-78 and as president of the NEA from 1983-89. Tedrow is a distinguished teacher of high school English.

"There is a fundamental need to shake up the nation's collective thinking on quality teaching," said Van Roekel, "and we believe the best way to do that is to get the perspective of professional educators who are recognized for their innovation and accomplishments in the classroom. Our hope is that this Commission will not only focus on the professional practices that make a difference in student learning but also address the critical issues facing the future of the profession."

The Commission on Effective Teachers and Teaching is charged with accomplishing work in four areas:
• Analyzing existing standards, definitions, policies and practices related to teacher effectiveness and effective teaching and developing a teachers' definition of an effective teacher and effective teaching.
• Crafting a new vision of a teaching profession that is led by teachers and ensures teacher and teaching effectiveness.
• Developing a comprehensive set of recommendations for the National Education Association about the union's role in advancing and promoting teacher effectiveness and the teaching profession.
• Developing a comprehensive set of recommendations for education leaders and policymakers about the future of the teaching profession and the role of teachers in governing it.

The Commission will deliver preliminary recommendations to the 2011 NEA Representative Assembly in Chicago. Commission members will solicit feedback from NEA members and deliver a final report to the public in the fall of 2011.

The full list of Commission members:
• Ronarae Adams, a National Board Certified Teacher (NBCT) program director at National University, from San Diego, Calif.
• Adele Bravo, an elementary school teacher from Boulder, Colo.
• James Brooks, a high school language and media arts teacher from Millers Creek, N.C.
• Andy Coons, a middle school math teacher from Tacoma, Wash.
• Madaline Fennel, a fourth-grade elementary school teacher from Omaha, Neb. (chair)
• Sharon Gallagher-Fishbaugh, president of the Utah Education Association and second-grade teacher from Salt Lake City, Utah
• Michael Geisen, a middle school science teacher from Prineville, Ore.
• Robert Goodman, a math and science teacher from Trenton, N.J.
• Mary Hatwood Futrell, a professor of education from Washington, D.C.
• Malinda Ice, a physical education teacher from St. Louis, Mo.
• Anne Keith, a middle school math and communication arts teacher from Bozeman, Mont.
• Renee Moore, an English instructor at Mississippi Delta Community College from Moorhead, Miss.
• Shelly Moore, a high school English and drama teacher from Ellsworth, Wisc.
• Lori Nazareno, a science teacher from Denver, Colo.
• Haydee Rodriguez, a high school language, literature and history teacher from El Centro, Calif.
• Kathleen Skinner, director of the Center of Education Policy and Practice from Boston, Mass.
• Peggy Stewart, a high school social studies teacher from Vernon, N.J.
• Mary K. Tedrow, a high school English teacher from Winchester, Va.
• William Thomas, a high school government teacher from Upper Marlboro, Md.
• Andy Tompkins, president and CEO for the Kansas Board of Regents from Topeka, Kan.
• Kathleen Wiebke, executive director of Arizona K12 from Phoenix, Ariz.


Take action to boost K-12 funding and support better pay.


Check out our products!


Embed This Page (x)

Select and copy this code to your clipboard